Home NEWSMetro News Second Batch Of 315 Nigerians Arrive From South Africa

Second Batch Of 315 Nigerians Arrive From South Africa

by Happynaija
Second Batch Of 315 Nigerians Arrive From South Africa - Happynaija.com

Second Batch Of 315 Nigerians Arrive From South Africa

The second batch of 315 Nigerians have landed at the Lagos Airport.

The aircraft touched down about 7.21 pm.

The returnees are being bused to cargo wing of the airport.

READ MORE: Senator Dino Melaye Arrested

Reporters were however barred from accessing the tarmac because of violation of air safety regulations.

Aviation authorities are protesting how reporters invaded the air side last week when the first batch of 187 Nigerians were evacuated.

Such invasion, it was learnt violated extant aviation regulations.

Dabiri-Erewa said the Nigerian High Commission in South Africa was working to ensure that the hitches in the evacuation were removed.

She, however, stated that the date for the next evacuation was still unknown.

The Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, who sent delegates to receive the returnees, gave each of them N20,000.

READ MORE: Ikorodu Council Vacates Secretariats

Unlike the first evacuation, journalists were barred from covering the arrival at the tarmac as security officials were deployed with sniffer dogs to stop them from reaching the area.

One of the returnees, Chukwuekwu Okom, from Delta State,

said Nigerians were constantly being harassed by South African police.

Okom said he was lucky to have survived and returned to Nigeria.

READ MORE: Genevieve Speaks About Xenophobic Attack

He said, “I will never go back. I spent six years in South  Africa and came back with nothing, but I thank God that I survived.

Things were so tough that I couldn’t pay my rent, I lived on the street for many months. I am back now, I will rather die here than go back.

Olanrewaju Wasiu from Ikorodu, Lagos State, simply said

he was happy to be back home.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More